Flag Frame

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
mitretight
Organisation: ....
Interests: Squash, Tennis, Cooking, Drinking.

Flag Frame

Post by mitretight »

I am new to the Framers Forum so I'll be interested on your thoughts on the following:

I have a 4ft x 3ft Union Jack to frame. I was going to present it in a frame using 5mm fillets to create a gap between the flag and the glass and attach to the mount board using either fuse wire or cotton stitch.

I would be greatful if anyone has any comments on the above and wether this is a suitable method.

Thanks in advance
Bill Henry
Organisation: Not so much - it's kind of messy.
Interests: Dry mounting dog hair, counting age spots on old people, playing chess with wood elves, scheming to take over the world.

Re: Flag Frame

Post by Bill Henry »

While we have no experience with a Union Jack, we’ve done several American flags roughly that size.

I’m not familiar with “fuse wire” but you want to insure that the thread material is weaker than the fabric of the flag so that the flag itself won’t tear if the frame gets jarred. Spacers are always a good idea.

Stitching any flag of that size will be time consuming. You might wish to investigate a “tag gun” specifically designed for attaching fabrics e.g. Attach-EZ.

We’ve been using one for several years. IMO, it is the greatest invention since cream filled cupcakes.
Don't take life so serious, son, it ain't nohow permanent! – Porky Pine
mitretight

Post by mitretight »

Thanks Bill,

I have a tag gun so will consider using instead of stitching. Any advice welcome. Not sure if we get cupcakes over here but they sound delicious!
markw

Post by markw »