New frame finished. Advice needed

Post examples...
Of framing styles or techniques that rocked your boat, and also of those that didn't
Orde02
Organisation: Northwood Framing
Interests: Painting, flying, cycling

New frame finished. Advice needed

Post by Orde02 »

Hello everyone.

I've just finished this frame for a painting I did last year and I'm hoping for some feedback.

figs.jpg

It's a bit more traditional than my last one with the beetle but I'm quite happy with the overall look.
It's hand finished with 3 coats of red gesso, 1 coat of black acrylic paint, 2 coats of Kolner black bole then wax polished with Liberon Tudor Oak wax.
I tried to fill in the grain of the Ayous moulding using a watered down filler then sanding and although it's better, it's still visible.
Is it possible to make to surface smooth so you can't see the grain at all or is it something I just need to live with.

Any feedback or advice on any aspect of this frame welcome, I'm VERY new to framing!

Regards

Matt
vintage frames
Organisation: https://www.dermotmcardle.co.uk/
Interests: Making picture frames

Re: New frame finished. Advice needed

Post by vintage frames »

I like what you're doing. A wide black frame always looks good around a small still life such as this. I think they were often referred to as cabinet frames and many of the original ones I've seen were cut from walnut or other prime hardwoods.
The big problem with using a cheaper wood such as ayous or obeche etc, is the unattractive grain pattern. If you were using walnut, then you would be keeping some of the grain showing because it is very attractive in itself, but with the cheaper timbers, it's better to fill up the grain and have a smooth surface to work on.
So 1, bin the red gesso - I don't know what that purports to be - and buy some RSG ( rabbit skin glue ), and a couple of kilos of whiting. Both are dirt cheap.