TV as monitor

Computerised Mount Cutters, Computers, other gadgetry.

TV as monitor

Postby Trinity » Tue Jan 12, 2016 1:33 pm

Does anyone have experience of using a tv as an extra monitor in conjunction with the computer.
I'd like a large (32) screen tv so that I can do the cmc designs on it, perhaps use it for the pricing software and watching tutorial type downloads. My thoughts are simply to pick up a 2nd hand telly
Thanks
Keith
Do not be afraid of strangers, for thereby many have entertained angels unawares.
Trinity
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:01 pm
Location: Yorkshire England
Organisation: Trinity Framing
Interests: Classic Tractors, Honda Blackbird, Eunos, anything with an engine

Mainline Strathdon

Re: TV as monitor

Postby JohnMcafee » Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:19 pm

We use a cheap low-spec (720p) 32in TV as a second monitor. It is adequate for our purpose (frame visualisation) but wouldn't mind upgrading to a TV with a higher specification sometime.
"A little learning is a dangerous thing"

(Also known as John, the current forum administrator)
User avatar
JohnMcafee
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:58 am
Location: Belfast
Organisation: Scenes
Interests: Picture Framing
Putting the world to rights

Re: TV as monitor

Postby 22rabbits » Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:51 pm

So it will work fine for normal stuff but dont use it for anything like photoshop of similar visual centered software as it wont hold a celebration.

Also, i find that montiors are cheap new and secondhand. I use a 27'' imac for editing and its really big for a computer screen (we all tend to sit close when using a computer)
22rabbits
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 6:18 am
Location: Ireland
Organisation: myown
Interests: framing

Re: TV as monitor

Postby prospero » Tue Jan 12, 2016 3:46 pm

I looked into this at one time and was told Tv's don't have the resolution like proper monitors. I did once hook the PC up to a 47" back-projection TV and it looked crap. :lol:
PC monitors tend to take a quantum leap in price past 27".

Having said that, I have recently downloaded MP4 files from YouTube and written them on DVDs. They look a bit middling on the PC monitor, but look amazing on the a 55" TV.
Watch Out. There's A Humphrey About
User avatar
prospero
 
Posts: 10213
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: TV as monitor

Postby IFGL » Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:09 pm

Just bought a couple of these
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00PRCR ... ref=plSrch

Excellent for the money.
IFGL
 
Posts: 3044
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:27 pm
Location: Sheffield
Location: Sheffield UK
Organisation: Inframe Gallery Ltd
Interests: Films ,music and art, my wife and kids are pretty cool too.

Re: TV as monitor

Postby JFeig » Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:41 pm

My primary monitor is a 32" HD Vizio flat screen. It is connected via a HDMI cable. Resolution is 1920 x 1080. I also watch over the air HD on the same monitor.
Jerome Feig CPF®
http://www.minoxy.com
JFeig
 
Posts: 865
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 8:31 pm
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Organisation: minoxy, LLC
Interests: non-fiction knowledge

Re: TV as monitor

Postby prospero » Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:58 pm

It was only last year that I upgraded to a 27" Sammy. Shade over 200quids. Prior to that I had for many years used a 22" Mitsubishi CRT, which was a nice monitor but a huge lump.
Watch Out. There's A Humphrey About
User avatar
prospero
 
Posts: 10213
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: TV as monitor

Postby Trinity » Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:30 pm

Thanks for the replies, I'll try and get hold of a tv . I use an Eizo CG276 if I'm doing editing (only use Lightroom) and my dell at 22" is a little small unless as suggested your right up front.
Do not be afraid of strangers, for thereby many have entertained angels unawares.
Trinity
 
Posts: 629
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 8:01 pm
Location: Yorkshire England
Organisation: Trinity Framing
Interests: Classic Tractors, Honda Blackbird, Eunos, anything with an engine

Re: TV as monitor

Postby MikeSwannick » Wed Jan 27, 2016 11:23 am

I've used a 40" Sony and 32" Panasonic TV as monitors at 1920 x 1080 via HDMI during the last 5 years. One issue you may encounter when you first make the connection and fire up the computer is the desktop appearing to be a little oversized for the TV screen despite the screen resolution of the PC set to 1920 x 1080 and the TV the same. This was resolved on both my TV's with a function hidden in the TV setup menu. Both functions had obscure (and different) names possibly involving the word 'overscan' but fundamentally made the incoming signal fit the screen properly. No amount of fiddling with the graphic card properties made any difference.

I wouldn't use a TV for Photoshop work either. The clarity of the image is noticeably poorer than a reasonable monitor.

Mike.
MikeSwannick
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:23 pm
Location: Brookenby
Organisation: Game of Frames
Interests: All things zombie. I also do data recovery.


Return to Technology - CMC's Computers Etc



cron

 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads