Adobe CC

Computerised Mount Cutters, Computers, other gadgetry.

Adobe CC

Postby Trinity » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:45 am

I currently use a stand alone Lightroom and photshop package but picked up an offer on the CC. I'm unsure how the CC would perform with my very slow broadband speed which is about 1.5 - 2mb / minute.
Any thoughts?
Do not be afraid of strangers, for thereby many have entertained angels unawares.
Trinity
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:01 pm
Location: Yorkshire England
Organisation: Trinity Framing
Interests: Classic Tractors, Honda Blackbird, Eunos, anything with an engine

EstLite Frame Pricing Software

Re: Adobe CC

Postby David McCormack » Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:58 am

Creative Cloud is a desktop application so you don't need an internet connection to use it on a day to day basis.

You just need an internet connection the first time you install photoshop (or whatever) and then a connection is needed when the software wants to validate your license which I believe is every 30 days.
"You know, there's a right and wrong way to do everything!"
Oliver Hardy.
User avatar
David McCormack
 
Posts: 1329
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:14 am
Location: Cumbria
Location: South Lakes
Organisation: Framing
Interests: Cycling, walking, darkroom photography and laughing a lot!

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Trinity » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:05 pm

I don't really understand it I have to say, but thanks for that. I generally work on the basis that if I press a button and it works, end of knowledge needs, sad but true. I had this vision that all of the images were up there somewhere and that you had to download them via the broadband - I know, I know, I feel it without being told!
Downloading the CC failed first time and was going to take ages on second attempt, so I guess it'll be an overnighter like the updates used to be for the stand alone version.
Do not be afraid of strangers, for thereby many have entertained angels unawares.
Trinity
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:01 pm
Location: Yorkshire England
Organisation: Trinity Framing
Interests: Classic Tractors, Honda Blackbird, Eunos, anything with an engine

Re: Adobe CC

Postby David McCormack » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:39 pm

Once you have downloaded Lightroom and Photoshop they will work like any other desktop app so long as you keep paying your monthly subscriptions.... stop paying and they stop working!!

I still use Photoshop CS3 which is very old now but it does all I need it to, so I've no reason to sign up to CC. Trouble is my Mac is also very old so if I ever wanted/needed to get a new one I would then go for the CC Photography package which I think is about £8.50 a month.
"You know, there's a right and wrong way to do everything!"
Oliver Hardy.
User avatar
David McCormack
 
Posts: 1329
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:14 am
Location: Cumbria
Location: South Lakes
Organisation: Framing
Interests: Cycling, walking, darkroom photography and laughing a lot!

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Trinity » Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:20 pm

https://creative.adobe.com/promo/TPSCCP ... 1&mv=email
Only for the 1st year I know but £6.85 inc VAT.
I think my last upgrade from 5 to LR6 was £60 and the upgrades seemed to be getting more frequent, so when you add Photoshop and cut out a magazine and Saturday's Yorkshire Post it more or less covers it.
Do not be afraid of strangers, for thereby many have entertained angels unawares.
Trinity
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:01 pm
Location: Yorkshire England
Organisation: Trinity Framing
Interests: Classic Tractors, Honda Blackbird, Eunos, anything with an engine

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Graysalchemy » Tue Mar 22, 2016 1:37 pm

Is the subscription just for one computer or can one account use it on more one machine? £100 ish a year seems very reasonable to me someone who uses it every day for nearly every job I do.
User avatar
Graysalchemy
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: Manchester
Location: Manchester
Organisation: AIL
Interests: Picture framing and brewing

Re: Adobe CC

Postby David McCormack » Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:07 pm

The CC for photographers package (lightroom and photoshop) allows you to use it on two computers, some info and faqs here: https://www.adobe.com/content/dotcom/ie ... ng-started
"You know, there's a right and wrong way to do everything!"
Oliver Hardy.
User avatar
David McCormack
 
Posts: 1329
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:14 am
Location: Cumbria
Location: South Lakes
Organisation: Framing
Interests: Cycling, walking, darkroom photography and laughing a lot!

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Graysalchemy » Tue Mar 22, 2016 2:12 pm

I bought On1 10 which can be used with photoshop as a plug in (though not with my ancient cs3). The main reason I bought it was for the Resize program it used to be known as fractal graphics and is invaluable for me who has to blow up stupidly small images to the clients requirements. Even if the scaling isn't particularly big ie just doubling size it does a far better job than any trick you can do in photoshop (ie increasing the size successively by 10%). It was only about £70 I think and yours to keep for ever with free updates until a new version comes out next year.
User avatar
Graysalchemy
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: Manchester
Location: Manchester
Organisation: AIL
Interests: Picture framing and brewing

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Steve N » Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:45 pm

I have access to the full Adobe suite on 3 computers for £72.00 per month, at the moment I'm using Photoshop, Bridge, Dreamwaver and Lightroom, soon going to add Illustrator as well, I can work at home then come into work and update/change files at will on the two computers in the workshop and they all sync :rock:
Steve CEO GCF (020)
"Just because you seen it on the internet, does not make it true or right" -Abraham Lincoln
Proud to sell Ready Made Frames
http://www.frontierpictureframes.com
http://www.designerpicturemounts.com/
User avatar
Steve N
 
Posts: 2107
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 3:32 pm
Location: Bath, Somerset
Location: Bath, in the wild wild west
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames
Interests: photography,travel, wildlife, walking,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly

Re: Adobe CC

Postby DCS » Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:01 am

For the libraries to show you will still need a constant connection to the internet but not vital as anything saved in the library could be saved to your hard drive and re-imported if need be.
For my sins I own and operate
http://www.durhamcitystudios.com
DCS
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:48 pm
Location: Durham City
Location: Durham UK
Organisation: Durham City Studios
Interests: Photography and Framing

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Whitewater Gallery » Sat Apr 02, 2016 1:04 pm

Graysalchemy wrote:I bought On1 10 which can be used with photoshop as a plug in (though not with my ancient cs3). The main reason I bought it was for the Resize program it used to be known as fractal graphics and is invaluable for me who has to blow up stupidly small images to the clients requirements. Even if the scaling isn't particularly big ie just doubling size it does a far better job than any trick you can do in photoshop (ie increasing the size successively by 10%). It was only about £70 I think and yours to keep for ever with free updates until a new version comes out next year.


I use On1 10 just to resize and to do the soft reflect canvas wraps. I have to say though that I am not getting on with V10 and the wrap function, it does not seem to give me the size I want. Have you been using this function Graysalchemy, if so how have you found it?
Whitewater Gallery
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 4:32 pm
Location: Polzeath
Organisation: Whtewater Gallery
Interests: Surfing, sailing

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Graysalchemy » Sat Apr 02, 2016 2:59 pm

I don't do many canvases but used it this week for the first time I found it to be OK.
User avatar
Graysalchemy
 
Posts: 3843
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 6:12 pm
Location: Manchester
Location: Manchester
Organisation: AIL
Interests: Picture framing and brewing

Re: Adobe CC

Postby Whitewater Gallery » Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:37 pm

Ok, it must be me! Knowing that it should work I will look at it again once the Easter holidays are out of the way.
Whitewater Gallery
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2014 4:32 pm
Location: Polzeath
Organisation: Whtewater Gallery
Interests: Surfing, sailing

Re: Adobe CC

Postby IFGL » Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:37 pm

I use my RIP to do the wraps, set up a template then fire them trough.
IFGL
 
Posts: 3039
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 6:27 pm
Location: Sheffield
Location: Sheffield UK
Organisation: Inframe Gallery Ltd
Interests: Films ,music and art, my wife and kids are pretty cool too.

Re: Adobe CC

Postby mho » Mon Apr 18, 2016 11:50 pm

IFGL wrote:I use my RIP to do the wraps, set up a template then fire them trough.


same here
mho
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 7:05 pm
Location: Sheffield, GB.
Organisation: Valley Photo Print & Picture Framing
Interests: Photography, F1, Films, Music.


Return to Technology - CMC's Computers Etc




 
Picture Framer's Trade Directory
Picture Framer's Oracle

 
Members Map Header
Members Map
More info
Resources Header
Contact Forum Admin
Directory
How to include an image in your post
Cove Box Designer
Download Designer
General supplies
Glass
Machinery
Mounts/Mountboard
Artists
Conservators
Prints
Software
Tuition
UK Medals
Framers Forum Live!
Support Header
Crimson
White
Green
Violet
Advertise Header
Forum Banner Ads