Help with mount cutter

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Linden
Organisation: Linden Hopwood Artist
Interests: Oil painting, portraiture, still-life & landscape. Golf.

Help with mount cutter

Post by Linden »

Newbie here!

I'm not intending getting into framing at all (don't have the time or space) but as a semi-professional artist, I am going to be making mounts for prints of some of my artwork. I'm primarily a portrait painter, but occasionally paint still-life and landscape stuff.

Recently, just for fun, I painted a small example of a jelly baby (bear with me, it's serious stuff). I was approached by a client who'd seen it and wanted me to paint six jelly babies (one of each flavour) in oils, each on it's own canvas. Business is business, and a commission to paint is always welcome, so that's what I did.

Anyhow, since then, I've had enquiries about whether I would do prints of them.... again, business is business, so I've produced some prints to order - some on canvas bonded to panels, others on fine art paper. All quality materials, archival pigments, Hahnemühle papers, etc.... scanned, colour matched and printed by myself on a large format Epson... so they're as good as they can possibly get, and, as the artist, they obviously have to be 'right'.

Although each colour of jelly baby print is a limited run of 50, I don't have the storage space or time to blitz through 50 of each flavour (plus another 50 of a set of six) and as there are different size options within each limited run, I can't predict which size will be the better seller.

I've been buying double mounts locally for the paper prints, some 11x14 with 7x9 aperture, others 6x8 with a 4.2x5.4 opening. It's a 50 mile round trip to the nearest frame shop, so it's adding to the cost and taking time just to get half-a-dozen mounts every week. It also adds to the time it takes for me to ship them out.