Flaky board leaving bits

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Rainbow
Organisation: Picture sales and framing
Interests: varied

Flaky board leaving bits

Post by Rainbow »

I recently did a job that was fine when I sent it out but it’s just been brought back to me with some bits floating around inside the glass. When I opened it up, I was horrified to see bits all over the reverse of the mountboard, so much that I had to vacuum it rather than just pick the bits off. When I studied the job, I can see that the art has been bonded to what I now realise is very soft and flaky board. I’ve picked potentially stray bits off the border with some tweezers but I’m concerned that it will keep flaking off. I’m not sure if I should seal the board round the edges, which is 2mm thick. If so, what would I use to seal it?
JFeig
Organisation: minoxy, LLC
Interests: non-fiction knowledge

Re: Flaky board leaving bits

Post by JFeig »

Are you saying the the art was mounted to a sub-straight by another person (possibly the customer)?

If so, you have to tell the customer that customer supplied items are "as is" and not warranted.
Jerome Feig CPF®
http://www.minoxy.com
Rainbow

Post by Rainbow »

Yes, that's right, although I'm pretty sure not by the customer. It's quite an old piece of art, I think done by somebody in the family long ago.

I think I'm going to have to seal it because even though I de-flaked it earlier, I can see little tufts have started springing out again. I've got some fray-stop and I'm wondering if that would be suitable. I agree about telling the customer about the problem but I'd like to try and find a solution if possible.
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Post by Not your average framer »