Hot Press Dry Mounting issues

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
+Rafe+
Organisation: Photographer/Framer
Interests: Theatre, film, the arts, a bit of this, a bit of that

Hot Press Dry Mounting issues

Post by +Rafe+ »

Hi,

I'm having some issues when Dry Mounting that I hoping someone can help with?

I am relatively new to Dry Mounting so not too savvy with the tips and tricks...

I have found that when Dry Mounting a heavy height paper (circa 300gsm) to 3mm foamboard (Wessex own stock) that one corner of the paper hadn't stuck. This a test piece, thankfully.

Similarly when attempting to make some spacers using Larson Minuet (AM8627) onto the same 3mm foambaord i had problems, in this case the mountcard came right away hardly sticking at all.

I am using SeaLion H8 Pro DMT tissue, supplied by Lion (4973a) and set my machine to the temp settings suggested (84c) and set the pump for 3.5 mins. In the case of the Mountcard item (for the spacers) I tried on a slightly lower temp (82-3c) and less time at 3mins incase I over cooked it and reduced the effectiveness of the bonding tissue, still the same results.

I also ensure the surfaces where dust free.

I was more surprised that the bonding tissue had adhered to the foamboard but not to the mountcard (at all) and the corner of the heavy weight paper?

What am I doing wrong?

Please can I ask for some guidance?

Many thanks
Justintime
Organisation: George The Framer LLP
Interests: Gardening, design, electronic music, good food and beverages.

Re: Hot Press Dry Mounting issues

Post by Justintime »

I have only used Hotpress tissue, but I suspect the only differences would be the required temp and possibly the time.