Ways to frame a sports shirt?

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
gavinr
Organisation: Dust & Ink
Interests: screenprinting

Ways to frame a sports shirt?

Post by gavinr »

I’m looking for some help, advice and examples please.

I’ve been asked if I can frame a signed sports shirt which as I’m just starting out is something I have never done, I did take a good look at the example work pieces on the textile framing stand at the Fine Art Trade Guild weekend that I attended recently but unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to quiz the lady who was running that workshop as it was always busy.

Can anyone give me advice on ways to go about this please, point me in the direction of tutorials and videos if there are any, recommend books that cover this technique and post examples of work you have done so I can get some ideas of what is possible and the different ways of presenting the shirt.

Also, the shirt is a modern polyester one and I’m assuming it’s been signed with marker pens so are there any conservation issues I need to consider, primarily to prevent fading but also for materials used in mounting and any needlework required?
Steve N
Organisation: Frontier Picture Frames ltd
Interests: Walking our retired Greyhound,art, falling asleep on sofa in front of the telly

Re: Ways to frame a sports shirt?

Post by Steve N »

Hi
Framing sports shirts can be quite complex to some, it's a 'top dollar' everyday framing job, the first place to look is on here the forum, use the search facility , I just typed in 'Sports Shirt Framing' bring up a long list of threads regarding this, here is one of the top ones
https://www.theframersforum.com/viewtop ... ng#p137162

I have even posted to that tread, I do a 'DIY' version, one of the easier methods to do, the customer can put the shirt in themselves, so I just supply the frame for around £100.00 or I can pop it in for them for an extra £30.00