Band Clamps

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
CreativePhotographer
Organisation: Anna Briggs Creative Photography
Interests: Dogs, creative photography and walking..... lots of walking!!

Band Clamps

Post by CreativePhotographer »

Good evening Framers... just putting this out there really. I met a friend today who's a carpenter and he makes and sells his own frames. Because he's a carpenter and not a framer he uses band clamps and not an underpinner. From what he was telling me, it seems pretty straight forward. I am just getting started and the framing I will be doing will be quite simple framing. The question I'm asking myself is; do I go down the underpinner route, or, with training from friend, the band clamp route. I would very much appreciate thoughts. Thank you! :D
vintage frames
Organisation: https://www.dermotmcardle.co.uk/
Interests: Making picture frames

Re: Band Clamps

Post by vintage frames »

I'm assuming your friend who is a carpenter, makes his own frames from raw timber which he shapes in his workshop. After gluing and clamping up his frames, he further needs to cross-pin the mitres by hammering a long thin nail into the sides at each corner. This provides mechanical support to the glue already holding the frame together.
Because he has used raw timber, he can counter-sink the small nail head and disguise with some filler.
If you want to make the same sort of frames like he does, then a band clamp is all you need.
Buy your raw-wood mouldings from Rose & Hollis, make the frame and then paint or varnish to suit.

If, however, you intend to buy pre-finished mouldings then you really need a simple underpinner where the mechanical support is provided by inserting a steel staple into the underside joint of the moulding.
Nailing into the side of a prefinished moulding will damage and disfigure the finish.
Affordable Gilding Course for Professional Framers-https://www.dermotmcardle.co.uk/
https://www.instagram.com/dermotmcardle/