Hello from Lincolnshire

Say hello, and tell us a little about yourself.
Woodypk
Organisation: None yet
Interests: Woodwork, Framing, DIY

Hello from Lincolnshire

Post by Woodypk »

Hi guys and gals....

I'd just like to stop by the introductions sections and say hello from your newest recruit.

My name's Tom, and I've been a keen DIYer and woodworker for almost 10 years and amateur photographer for about the past 4 years. I'm 27 years old/young and recently have found (the past year or so) that I've been really enjoying making frames and framing artwork and photographs.

I specifically enjoy making hardwood frames from scratch - hand picking the rough sawn boards, making the frame mouldings and then mounting the artwork or photographs myself. I'm by far no means an expert or "qualified" in any of these things.... but I do thoroughly enjoy it :D .

I've made lots of wooden gifts and nick nacks over the years, but found real joy in creating frames for people to hang their photographs and artwork at home. If I'm not making a frame or mounting artwork for a colleague - I'm a Mechanical Engineer by trade, by the way - I'm making one for friends or family or for the Mrs. I'm not sure if I'm the only one, but it seems like I make more photo frames for the Mrs. than I do anyone else... She does do a lot of digital artwork though... so I guess that's alright (even if it is at a cost to myself!?)

If I'm not doing any of those things, you'd probably find me pottering around the garage in my workshop, pottering around the veg garden or playing with my 9 month old son and his big sister.