Margins, Markups, Mixups?

Financial, legal, advertising, pricing, marketing, accountancy, bookkeeping, employment, taxation, etc.
iorek
Organisation: A Picture Framing One
Interests: Sport, Art, Photography,

Margins, Markups, Mixups?

Post by iorek »

HI Folks

Hope you're all well.

As a newbie, I'm still getting my head around standard practices and I have a pricing question.

My margins/markups seem low

FRAME COST
glass 32.95
moulding 27.06
mount 13.60
backing 3.13
barrier 2.00
hardware 2.50
vat 16.25
total cost 97.49

SALE PRICE 143.00

profit 45.51
markup 31.83%
margin 46.68%

I'm unsure if I've got margins/markups the correct way round (or even correct). But the idea of essentially £100 of a £150 sale does not seem sustainable to me. Am I wrong?

I use Estlite and think it's great - I'm sure I'll learn to love it once we understand each other a bit more. Could it be that I have set it up wrongly?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Re: Margins, Markups, Mixups?

Post by Not your average framer »

I see where you are coming from, but making big money on each individual framing job, is not the reality. We all need to be able to spread our oporating costs over multiple framing orders, to make things work. Also we need to be able to turn the framing jobs around fairly quickly to enable us to comlete enough work to create the income required to cover the oporating costs for that period of time. Below a certain amount of throughput of framing jobs, resulting in a certain amount of income, our businesses become un-viable. I was trained at a busy and fairly large framing workshop and at first, I could not understand how these people could work so fast. It took me a long time to come up to speed. Later I started my own framing business and needed to earn enough to make ends meet.