Double sided mount with spacer.

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
raymond
Organisation: raymond bradshaw photography
Interests: photography . Walking . travel .

Double sided mount with spacer.

Post by raymond »

I am a newbie to framing, I have just learnt how to cut a double sided mount successfully. For my next conquest I would like to learn to add a spacer
Between the two mounts. My question is how do I do this when the two mounts have been stuck together.
David McCormack
Organisation: Framing
Interests: Cycling, walking, darkroom photography and laughing a lot!

Re: Double sided mount with spacer.

Post by David McCormack »

Hi Raymond, when you say doubled sided mount do you mean a double window-mount? If the mounts are stuck together I can't see how you can insert a spacer, you need to do that before you stick them together.

I may just have got what you mean... did you use the technique where you cut the mounts and glue the second mount to the first before cutting the second? This is a good way of doing it but if you want a spacer you will need to cut the mounts separately.

Are you framing a pastel or charcoal, hence the need for a spacer between the mounts?
"You know, there's a right and wrong way to do everything!"
Oliver Hardy.
https://www.instagram.com/davidaustinmccormack/
raymond

Post by raymond »

I guess is it called a double window mount. One mount cut lightly bigger than the other. It is for framing photographs, not art work. I cut the bottom mount, taped the second mount to the back then cut the top mount. Thinking about it I so pose I should add the spacer in-between the two mounts then cut the top mount. Hope this makes sense.
prospero

Post by prospero »

Cut the top mount, but just lightly tack the second board in place in a couple of places. AT tape is good for this. Cut the second window as per usual. Then you should be able to gently prise the two mounts apart. Add the spacer and fix the whole lot back together.