Wrinkles/Waves in Custom Frame Question

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
PNWFramingGuy
Organisation: None
Interests: Framing

Wrinkles/Waves in Custom Frame Question

Post by PNWFramingGuy »

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on the board. Thanks in advance for your help. My wife and I just got a poster custom framed at a local shop. It looks beautiful from straight on, but when we view the poster from the side there are clear waves/wrinkles in the print. Please see the attached photo. This is also the first time we've had something custom framed and are unsure whether these waves are to be expected.

My question: Is this a normal frame job and should we live with the wrinkles/waves or should the frame shop be able to smooth these out and fix them at no charge?

Thanks again!

Adam
IMG_4145.JPG
IMG_4145.JPG (1.1 MiB) Viewed 4035 times
Abacus
Organisation: Abacus Picture Framing and Gallery
Interests: Picture Framing, Furniture making.

Re: Wrinkles/Waves in Custom Frame Question

Post by Abacus »

Does the poster have any current value or is it rare and likely to be valuable in the future?

If so then live with it

If not then they should have bonded it down to get rid of the wrinkles.
PNWFramingGuy

Post by PNWFramingGuy »

Thanks for the response... not concerned with the value of the poster. Can they go back in and bond it down now to get rid of the wrinkles? And should they charge me for that fix?
IFGL
Organisation: Inframe Gallery Ltd
Interests: Films ,music and art, my wife and kids are pretty cool too.

Post by IFGL »

If it was a rolled up poster you brought to them then yes you should expect a charge for them to flatten it, because the damage was done by who ever rolled it up, if you brought them a flat poster in perfect condition, then they should do it for free.
Graysalchemy

Post by Graysalchemy »