white clay handprints

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Sam

white clay handprints

Post by Sam »

Hello newbie here,

I have been left on my own for the next 3 weeks ( everybody 2gether ahhhh!) anyway a customer has rung me about these white clay hand and foot prints she wants them box framed, now my question to you all is what do you suggest i stick them down with (no rude suggestions please) another framer did it for her before and used silicone they fell off the back within a week and fell off the wall needless to say she does not want a repeat performance.

HELP!!!! :cry:
Sam

Work slowly to save energy - for a party!
Spit
Organisation: Framing Mad
Interests: Framing, watercolours & CCFC

Post by Spit »

Tile adhesive sounds a good bet.
http://www.classicbikeart.co.uk

Steve.
During business hours : My status
markw

Post by markw »

whatever adhesive you use has to be able to grip the plaster - roughen the surface to give the adhesive something to grip on to. (make sure you blow away any dusty particles).
Moglet
Organisation: An Urban Myth
Interests: I'll let you know if I get my life back.

Post by Moglet »

Hi Sam,

How heavy is the piece? My concern would be that, even if the adhesive holds, the weight may cause the facing paper to tear away.

I had a similar project, and eventually mounted it with Mighty Mounts (available from Lion). Not totally invisible, but effective.
........Áine JGF SGF FTB
Image .Briseann an dúchas trí shuiligh an chuit.
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Post by Not your average framer »