translucent mounting and framing of drafting film, and a frame with no sides...

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Harrier
Organisation: not a business
Interests: artist

translucent mounting and framing of drafting film, and a frame with no sides...

Post by Harrier »

I am an artist rather than a framer, and would like some advice on an unusual framing.
I have tried to explain all the aspects below, which I apologise has got rather long, but I have probably missed some vital info as well. Please excuse my ignorance.

The works are on drafting film. (This is a flexible film used as amore stable medium than tracing paper, made from polyester with a finely textured finish on both sides that holds either ink and polymer pencil, and looks frosted, similar in appearance to tracing paper.)

I would like the frame to have a transparent backing so the translucency of the artwork can be seen. I was considering glazing it both sides with either acrylic or polycarbonate sheet, but I am not sure how to mount the film to hold it flat. It does haves a preference to lie or hang flat, and no variation with humidity. It does move with temperature changes, but evenly. (For the maximum dimension of these works, of about 800 mm, with a temperature change of 30ºC, there would be a dimensional change of 3 mm for polyester, and 1.6 mm for either acrylic or polycarbonate sheet, and only 0.1 mm for glass.)

Is condensation less of an issue if the medium is non-absorbent? There would still be potential rubbing if there was contact with the pencil on the film and differential thermal movement, so I thought it would still be necessary to separate the glazing and the artwork. So I was considering effectively clamping the edges of the film between spacers and those being set between glazing. Is that feasible?

To make things more complex, they are a linear set of five linked images: a quintych.