InkFlow systems, ICC profiles, etc.

Computerised Mount Cutters, Computers, other gadgetry.
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

InkFlow systems, ICC profiles, etc.

Post by Not your average framer »

I am now considering buying an InkFlow system for my recently acquired A3 ink jet printer, which now seems to be working properly after a bit of head cleaning and fiddling around with it.

This being new territory for me, I'm still learning what it's all about. So I've got a few questions, which hopefully will enlighten myself and others too!

It seems that I may need to do some calibration or colour correction adjustments to get the best results for my combination of printer, ink and paper. Also it appears that this is normally done by running a printer test, send off the resulting print out and receiving a ICC profile which can be loaded into the computer.

So my immediate questions are as follows:

Do I need a particular item of software to enable me to use this ICC profile or is it just loaded onto the system and that's that?

If I need extra software, can someone please explain what it is, how to get it and how much it will cost?

Thanks in anticipation,
Mark
Mark Lacey

“Life is short. Art long. Opportunity is fleeting. Experience treacherous. Judgement difficult.”
― Geoffrey Chaucer
WelshFramer
Organisation: Neuadd Bwll Framing
Interests: Does running a framing business leave any time for interests?

Re: InkFlow systems, ICC profiles, etc.

Post by WelshFramer »

If you want someone to provide you with a profile then you just need to ask them for a standard file that you print. You'll need something like Photoshop to open and print the file.

You need to print it on the paper you are going to use with the printer settings you are going to use. You then post the printed result off and receive a profile back by email.