High quality box frames

Post examples...
Of framing styles or techniques that rocked your boat, and also of those that didn't
photoframer

High quality box frames

Post by photoframer »

Hi there framers.
I'm not a professional framer myself, as the username suggests I'm a photographer who frames her own work. I've been looking at some high quality photographic frames as featured in galleries such as 'The Photographers Gallery' and elsewhere in London and am wondering how does one make one.
I get the deep rebate moulding part but how does one separate the glass panel - at the front, from the photograph - at the back. What does one use to keep them apart. Looking into the boxes to try and work it out, all I can see is a white surface on the inside between glass and mount(?). What is it,where can you get whatever it is that is needed and how do you use it.
I know this is quite a long and convoluted question but I'm desparate to make these box frames for my work. I've been framing conventionally for over a year now and with quite basic equipment am getting very good results. I just need pointing in the right direction for this box frame issue.
artist making her own frames looking to find information about techniques.
John
Site Admin
Organisation: Scenes Picture Framing
Interests: Forums and stuff

Post by John »

Hi photoframer,

Any chance of posting a photo to let us see what you are trying to achieve?

Welcome to the forum
photoframer

Post by photoframer »

Hi John
No, unfortunately despite being a photographer I did not think about photographing the said box frame.
Do you know what I mean when I say that I need to get the glass to the front of the box and the image itself - mounted at the back so you get this window affect when viewing the photograph / art work.
markw

Post by markw »