Promotions

Financial, legal, advertising, pricing, marketing, accountancy, bookkeeping, employment, taxation, etc.
Steven
Organisation: Harrison Lord
Interests: Photography

Promotions

Post by Steven »

After the heavy snow killed trade in the early part of the year I have noticed that orders are still not coming in at the usual rate.
So I'm about to mailshot my database to drum up some trade which I have never done before. I am thinking of offering a discount of 10% with the letter. Has anybody any experience of this type of promotion, does it work?
Any other ideas would be much appreciated.
Not your average framer
Organisation: The Dartmoor Gallery
Interests: Lost causes, saving and restoring old things, learning something every day

Re: Promotions

Post by Not your average framer »

Discounts never worked for me, but I do special offers on mirrors to try and entice customers into the shop. Results can vary, but sometimes it works.
Mark Lacey

“Life is short. Art long. Opportunity is fleeting. Experience treacherous. Judgement difficult.”
― Geoffrey Chaucer
Roboframer

Post by Roboframer »

Do you have a newsletter?

We send out one to our database - which won't be like your database - it's a dedicated newsletter database - they all (a good 2-3000) opted in! It's supposed to go out every other month, but it's about quarterly now - wish we had the time to do it monthly because it really works - now and again we'll offer a discount here and there, but rarely on framing - the last time I tried it was FREE museum glass up to 12x16" - I must have had a lot of offcuts! I think ONE person took it up!
Bill Henry
Organisation: Not so much - it's kind of messy.
Interests: Dry mounting dog hair, counting age spots on old people, playing chess with wood elves, scheming to take over the world.

Post by Bill Henry »

We’ve tried all kinds of direct mail, and none of them produced the kind of sales that we were hoping for.