I need training

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
shemilaya

I need training

Post by shemilaya »

Hi everyone,
I'm new to this forum and I just started framing 5 months ago so I'm a beginner and there's a lot I'd like to learn about framing. Here's the first general question I have: how does one make Japanese rice paper hinges? Are they only used for mounting certain types of paper? If not what other materials can they be used to mount? More questions to come...
Thanks in advance!
JFeig
Organisation: minoxy, LLC
Interests: non-fiction knowledge

hinges

Post by JFeig »

this link will show you how to make and use paper hinges. The use of home cooked wheat/rice paste or what they sell does not change the process.

http://www.frametek.com/HTML/Nori/Nori1.html
Jerome Feig CPF®
http://www.minoxy.com
mick11

Post by mick11 »

Hi
I can recommend a set of books written by Vivian Kistler an American framer. They are well written and will answer most of your questions for the next couple of years. Each book covers a specific subject, and you can buy them singly or as a set.
Mick
-----------------------------------------
The impossible I can do today,
Miracles take a little longer
---------------------------------------
markw

Post by markw »

Hi Shemilaya - welcome to the forum. Advanced question for a beginner - but start as you mean to go on. Try Lion Picture Framing Supplies for the neccesary materials - Rice Paper hinges are used for hinge mounting on all high quality work. In simple terms you are using a material that is fully reversible should it be neccesary to remove it from the media - it also breaks before it damages the media should it be stressed.

Fine Art Trade Guild have some useful publications for beginners - Its worth going on a good training course and getting your GCF - Guild Commended Framer - if you are framing profesionaly then it pays to have been profesionaly trained.

Good luck.