New Starter - Hi....

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
Gus
Organisation: Not yet.
Interests: Off road motorcycling; Youth work; Watching sport - motocross; speedway and rugby mainly.

New Starter - Hi....

Post by Gus »

Hi, my first post! :wink: (be gentle please!)
I am just starting out in the framing business. I have practised on all of the family photos and pictures at home, progressed onto friends stuff, done a couple of jobs for payment and am now thinking of taking the bolder step of getting jobs from marketing/advertising.

I have looked through (most of) the pages on the forum and gained a wealth of information and ideas, thank you. I also went to the Lion open day, listened to all of the seminars, talked to a lot of people, had a great time and also learnt a lot :D .

My question really is in relation to how and where to market myself. Do I stay local - or do I go for the internet stuff and go into packaging and posting out jobs :?: I have practised on hand finishing and want to concentrate on this side of the industry - not to the skill level of gesso and gilding, just painting, staining, waxing etc. that complements the artwork, giving a unique finished product - would this work on distance work, or is it best to stay local and build up reputation by word of mouth etc?

I have a home workshop (as well as a full time job - at present anyway). I will not be looking at volume framing but would like to build up to a steady throughput of work.

Any advice / information on ideas to progress would be greatly received.

Regards, Gus.
Keith Hewitt
Organisation: www.keithhewitt.co.uk
Interests: Badminton, golf, gym, and exploring new places.

Re: New Starter - Hi....

Post by Keith Hewitt »

Gus,

Welcome to the FF :D
Glad you find it so helpful

Yes that Lion Open day was brill :clap:

I cant answer you, as there are experts on here with far better knowledge than me!