Hand finishing

Get help and framing advice from the framing community
Julia
Organisation: Bexley
Interests: Quality framing and being creative

Hand finishing

Post by Julia »

Hi all,

I'm new to framing, and just trying to learn the ropes and set up a business from home. I'm keen to do some hand finishing of frames, for some artwork that I'm making myself, and wondered whether anyone knows of any good books on the subject? I've searched everywhere for information, that's all in one place, on all aspects of handfinishing. I've managed to find info on liming, and some American info on staining, but they use words for products, and I don't know what the equivalent is here, so it's all very frustrating.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks
David McCormack
Organisation: Framing
Interests: Cycling, walking, darkroom photography and laughing a lot!

Re: Hand finishing

Post by David McCormack »

I'm sure you'll get plenty of help here from the likes of Not Your Average Framer, Prospero and Framemaker, all wise in the ways of hand finishing, but in the meantime this makes interesting reading:

http://www.lionpic.co.uk/infostore/Know-How,1953.aspx

Download the Everest paint finishes.
"You know, there's a right and wrong way to do everything!"
Oliver Hardy.
https://www.instagram.com/davidaustinmccormack/
prospero

Post by prospero »

Hi Julia. :D

There aren't any definitive books on the subject as far as I can tell. There are framing books that have sections on hand finishing. As you observe, mostly US origin. There are books on wood finishing, but these are mainly aimed at general woodwork. They do have some application to picture frames though....

All in all it's a bit of a dark art and people who do it tend to have their own individual methods which evolve from experiment and aren't in any books. There is only one rule really - Whatever you put on a frame has got to be reasonably durable and stay on.
Watch Out. There's A Humphrey About
Jonny2morsos