Getting Started (Mount Cutting)

Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
JohnL

Getting Started (Mount Cutting)

Post by JohnL »

Hi Folks

I'm new to the world of framing, although I've been a carpenter for many years. My question is what is the cheapest possible way of cutting my mounts, as I only intend to do it as a hobby for friends and family. Can I get away with using something like a "Logan 4000" against a straight edge or will this prove too difficult with getting the corners right.

John
markw

Post by markw »

Hi JohnL
You tend to get what you pay for - the smaller hobby cutters are very basic.

You are asking people who try and make a living out of framing pictures for you, your family and friends - my advice is always have artwork framed by a professional picture framer. if you seriously want to take up picture framing get some proper training before you practice on other peoples artwork.
Merlin
Organisation: Merlin Mounts
Interests: Aviation

Post by Merlin »

Hi JohnL
Welcome to the Forum.

I agree with Mark and I am one of those people who run a picture framing shop.

However, I also teach picture mounting at the local College to the City & Guilds level Photography students where they use the Logan 4000 cutter.

As Mark says a very basic cutter, yet it does work and as long as a lot of care is taken with measurements, positioning and cutting procedures then good results can be achieved.

You are a carpenter, so you understand the need for accuracy in measuring. Measure twice and cut once!

With the 4000 the cut is on the pull stroke. Make sure that the straight edge is at 90 degs to the body. That way no twist of the wrist or elbow will ruin the cut. You do not plain a piece of wood using 'cross body' movements.