Discuss Picture Framing topics.

PLEASE USE THE HELP SECTION
WHEN SEEKING OR OFFERING HELP!
budgie05
Organisation: funky fusion
Interests: motorsport, footy, painting,

general

Post by budgie05 »

How do I am an artist living in cumbria lokking for a picture framing cousre near by as it costs a fortune getting my stuff framed and now we framing glass art to it will double the cost so i am looking at doing it my-self, but i need a list of tools and supplies to get me started, o also where is the best place to get you materials and supplies from.
Cheers Budgie :wink:
Dave

Re: general

Post by Dave »

That's a big old question, equipment wise you need something to cut glass to size, mitre your frame mouldings, join your frame, cut board to size. You will also need some had tools to finish the frame. Most people will admit to buying too cheaply initially and then buying better later on, I certainly did. The standard and quality of all of these items depends on your budget and the volume you wish to produce.

Lions Brochure is an excellent place to start, there are lot's of other suppliers, a quick google will bring them up. Also look on ebay, there is always lot's on there.

Materials wise, Arquadia, Lion, Wessex, Simons, ashworth and Thompson are probably the best known, but there are others. Everyone has their favourites. Be wary of buying lot's of second hand mouldings, they can be twisted, bent, and just not popular. I'm not saying don't, just be wary, I've still got some that i bought 7 years ago.

See if a local freindly framer will let you work with them for a couple of days. It'll be invaluable, but tell them why you want to do it, they really won't appreciate it if you then start taking business off them 200 yds down the road.

Dave
prospero

Post by prospero »

Hi and Welcome Budgie. :D